Foundation for Theological Studies

  • His Grace the Archbishop Mgr Mercieca, after consulting the Faculty of Theology, on its advice, established a Foundation for Theological studies with a legal act drawn up by Notary Dr Anthony Gatt B.A. LL.D., on the 26th September 1988: it was canonically erected on the same date by a decree of the Archbishop. The seat of the Foundation is at the Archbishop’s Seminary, tal-Virtù, Rabat.


  • President: Mgr Archbishop Charles J. Scicluna
    Direttur: Mgr Prof. Hector Scerri
    Secretary: Michelle Meli

    Telephone: 21456332, 21455497


  • Bursaries scheme


  • For the 2019-2020 academic year, the Foundation for Theological Studies is again offering a bursaries scheme to encourage more individuals to engage in pastoral studies within the Faculty of Theology at the University of Malta. Click here for more details


  • Ex Officio Members

    The Rector of the Seminary: Rev. Fr Albert Buhagiar
    The Dean of the Faculty of Theology: Rev. Dr John A. Berry


  • Members nominated by the Archbishop

    Hon. Justice Franco Depasquale
    Fr Christopher Caruana O.P.
    Mgr Frans Abdilla
    Rose Anne Abdilla
    Rev. Richard Stanley Grech OFM
    Rev. Prof. Mark Attard O.Carm.
    Dr Tonio Borg
    Rev. Dr Jimmy Bonnici
    Mrs Rebecca Gatt

  • Representatives of the Faculty of Theology

    Mgr Dr Joe Galea Curmi
    Mgr Prof. Hector Scerri
    Rev. Dr Paul Sciberras

  • Representatives of K.S.M.R.:

    Rev. Fr Paul Formosa SDB
    Sr Victoria Sant DSH