Chapter of the Metropolitan Cathedral

  • The Cathedral Chapter, according to tradition, was founded by the Normans when they occupied the Island of Malta.

    When the Knights of St. John left Malta, the Conventual Church was entrusted to the Cathedral Chapter with the specific duty to officiate at the Co-Cathedral. Today the Chapter is divided in two sections one officiating at St Paul’s Cathedral at Mdina and the other officiating at St John’s Co-Cathedral at Valletta.

    Thirty Monsignors is the full number of the Metropolitan Chapter. Their duty is to organize all the Liturgical Solemnities during the year at the Cathedral and at the Co-Cathedral. They also perform other pastoral duties assigned to them by His Grace the Archbishop of Malta, as prescribed by Law of the Church (Can. 503).

    The President of the Cathedral Chapter is Mgr. Louis Camilleri, the Chancellor is Mgr. Tarcisio Delicata and the Treasurer is Mgr. Joe Bugeja.

  • Tel

    2145 4136 (Mdina)

    21225639 (Valletta)

  • Active Monsignors

    (The date next to the Monsignors’ names is the date of appointment as Canon of the Cathedral)

    Vicar General: H.E. Mgr. Joseph Galea Curmi S.Th.D. (14.08.15)

    Archdeacon: Mgr. Philip Calleja, P.E.P., A.M., M.O.M., Cap.S.S. (13.01.80)
  • Precentor: Mgr. Prof Vincent Borg, D.D.,H.E.D., Arch.Chr.L., Prel. S.S. (13.01.80)
  • Archpriest: Mgr. Anton Cassar (21.09.14)
  • Mgr. Aloysius Deguara, S.Th. Dip., M.Phil., Cap. S.S. (18.01.87)

    Mgr. Carmelo Bonavia (18.01.87)

    Mgr. Victor Grech, B.A., Lic.D., M.O.M., Prel.S.S. (16.09.90)

    Mgr. Lawrence Cachia, Lic. D., M.O.M., Cap. S.S. (16.07.94)

    Mgr. Arthur Said Pullicino, S.Th.L. J. C.D., Prel S.S. (16.07.94)

    Mgr. Alfred Xuereb (14.03.98)

    Mgr. Vincent Deguara (26.07.03)

    Mgr. Joseph Carabott (26.07.03)

    Mgr. Joseph Mifsud Bonnici, B.A., Lic.D. (26.07.03)

    Mgr. Anthony Vella, B.A.,Lic.D.,Dip.Adv. Trib.Eccl.Melit (3.12.05)

    Mgr. Joseph Bugeja, B.A.,Lic.D. (11.02.07)

    Mgr. Tarcisio Delicata (11.02.07)

    Mgr. Louis Camilleri, B.A., Lic.D. (11.02.07)

    Mgr. Saviour Micallef, B.A., Lic.D. (11.02.07)

    Mgr. Carmel Farrugia (11.02.07)

    Mgr. Anton Gouder M.S.Th. (31.03.09)

    Mgr. Lawrence Gatt, B.A.(Hons), Lic. D., J.C.D., M.O.M., Cap S.S. (29.11.09)

    Mgr. Carmelo Aquilina, Lic.D. (28.11.10)

    Mgr. Ġwann Azzopardi, B.A., Lic.D., Prel. S.S. (10.01.13)

    Mgr. Prof. Ġorġ Grima B.A., Lic. D., M.A. (23.01.16)

    Mgr. Victor Zammit McKeon, Cap. S.S. (28.06.16) – Pro Rector for the Co-Cathedral

    Mgr. Charles Cordina, Cap. S.S. (23.01.16)

    Mgr. Frans Abdilla  (23.01.16)

    Mgr. Joseph Brincat (28.01.18)

    Mgr. Prof. Hector Scerri B.A. S.Th.D. STD (Greg) (28.01.18)

    Mgr. Alfred Vella S.Th.L. (28.01.18)

  • Monsignor Coadjutors:

    Mgr. Carmel Attard (23.01.16)

    Mgr. Joseph Bajada, Cap. S.S., S.Th.B., M.S.Th., J.C.D. (23.01.16)

    Mgr. Prof. Emmanuel Agius M.A. S. Th. D. (Louv) (28.01.18)

    Mgr. Edgar Vella S.Th.L. Ph.D. (Melit) (28.01.18)

    Mgr. Joseph Farrugia (28.01.18)

    Mgr. Richard Borg B.A., Lic. D. (14.08.19)

    Mgr. Valentino Borg, M.S.Th. (14.08.19)

    Mgr. Vincent Cachia (14.08.19)

    Mgr. Alfred Camilleri B.A. Lic.D. (14.08.19)

    Mgr. Dione Cutajar (14.08.19)

    Mgr. Kalcidon Vassallo (14.08.19)

    Mgr. Lawrence Zammit (14.08.19)

    Honorary Monsignors

    Mgr. Joseph Bartolo 

    Mgr. Norrie Bonavia, B.A., Lic.D.

    Mgr. Karm Mercieca S.Th.B.

    Mgr. Joe Borg

    Mgr. Carmel Camilleri S.Th.Dip.

    Mgr. Mario Camilleri M.S.Th., Cap.S.S.

    Mgr. Lino Grech S.Th.Dip.J.C.L., Cap.S.S.

    Mgr. Prep. Paul Carmel Vella S.Th.L., J.C.L., Cap. S.S.