The information provided on this page is not updated.
Kindly visit the new Secretariat for Parishes website.

St John’s Co-Cathedral – Valletta

  • St. John’s Co-Cathedral was built by Grand Master La Cassiere between 1573 and 1577 and was dedicated on the 20 February 1578 by Mgr Lodovico de Torres, Archbishop of Monreale; during the Grandmastership of Rafel Cotoner. Mattia Preti decorated the church, which was the Conventual church of the Order of St. John. When the French occupied Malta, Napoleon gave the church of St. John to the Bishop: this results from a document signed by Napoleon himself and which is kept in the Curia archives. The Foundation of St John’s Co-Cathedral is responsible for the material and cultural administration, while the Metropolitan Chapter is responsible for all religious services.
  • Members of the Metropolitan Cathedral Associated with the Co-Cathedral 


  • Pro Rector

    Mgr Victor Zammit McKeon


  • Members

    Mgr Carmelo Aquilina
    Mgr Charles Attard
    Mgr Edgar Attard
    Mgr Joseph Bajada
    Mgr Carmelo Bonavia
    Mgr Joseph Bugeja
    Mgr Lawrence Cachia
    Mgr Philip Calleja
    Mgr Tarcisio Delicata
    Mgr Anton Galea
    Mgr Lawrence Gatt
    Mgr Victor Grech
    Mgr Arthur Said Pullicino
    Mgr Alfred Xuereb
    Mgr Joseph Brincat


  • Attenda

    Mgr Alfred Vella
    Mgr Hector Scerri


  • Telephone

    2122 5639
    2248 0410/1




  • Holy Masses

    Sundays & Feast Days:

    7.45 a.m., 9.15 a.m., 11.00 a.m., 12.00p.m. (except July, August & September), 5.30 p.m. (1st November-30th June), 6.00 p.m. (1st July-31st October)
    Saturdays: 8.30 a.m., 5.30 p.m. (1st November-30th June), 6.00 p.m. (1st July-31st October)
    Weekdays: 8.30 a.m.