The information provided on this page is not updated.
Kindly visit the new Secretariat for Parishes website.

Senglea (L-Isla)

  • The Parish Church of Senglea, dedicated to the Nativity of the Virgin Mary, was most probably built by architect Vittorio Cassar in 1580 as a monument to the Victory after the Great Siege of 1565. Senglea became a parish in 1581 and was consecrated on the 20th October 1743 by Bishop Paolo Alpheran de Bussan. Pope Pius VI on the 21st May 1786 declared the church to be a “collegiata insignis”, while Pope Benedict XV on the 3rd January 1921 honoured the church with the title of Basilica; after the crowning of the statue of the Virgin Mary on the 4th September 1921 the church became a sanctuary of the Virgin Mary. The church was destroyed by bombs in 1941, but was rebuilt and consecrated by Mgr. Michael Gonzi, on the 24th August 1957.

    Parish Population: 2,700
    Families: 1,100
  • Collegiate Parish Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary

    Dedication date: 15 October 1943; 24 August 1957
  • Archpriest

    Can. Robin Camilleri
  • Parish Office

    27, St Lawrence Street
    ISL 1113
  • Office Hours

    Mondays and Fridays:
    4.30 – 6.00 pm

    8.30 – 10.00am
    N.B. The Parish Office is closed every first Friday of the month
  • Telephone

    2182 7203

    2180 7204
  • E-mail
  • Parish Clergy

    Can. Robin Camilleri, Archpriest
    Can. Cantor Teol Mark Ellul
    Can. Decan Dun Angelo Vella
    Can. Treasurer Dun Jonathan Farrugia
    Can. Penit. Dun Karm Camilleri
    Can. Mark Ellul

    Parish Pastoral Council

    President: Mr Lino Zahra

    Secretary: Mr Stefan Azzopardi

    Parish Economic Council

    President: Can. Robin Camilleri, Archpriest
    Secretary: Mr Gino Parnis
  • Holy Masses

    Sundays and Feast Days: 7.00, 8.00, 11.00am; 6.00pm
    Saturday Evenings: 6.00pm
    Weekdays (except Fridays): 6.30, 7.45am; 6.00pm
    Fridays: 6.00, 7.45, 10.00 am and 6.00pm
  • Other Churches

  • St. Julian’s Church

    The church was built for the first time in 1311 and for the second time in 1539.  On 19 February 1575 it became Vice-Parich Church of Vittoriosa.  In 1710 it was built for the third time following plans laid by architect Lorenzo Gafa.  Marriages may be celebrated in it and it is used as a Chapel for Perpetual Adoration.
  • Priest in charge

  • Church of Our Lady of Safe Haven

    The church, dedicated to Our Lady of Safe Haven (the Visitation), was built in 1596. It is known as the church of St. Philip Neri as it was given to the Oratorians priests who rebuilt it in 1690. Biship Vincenzo Labini consecrated this church on 22 April 1781. Don Angelo Raggio, the last Oratorian died in 1928 and with him the Oratorian presence in Malta came to an end. From this date the Archpriest of Senglea became responsible for the church. During the cholera epidemic (June 1837) this church and the friary adjacent to it served as a hospital, and when Senglea parish church was destroyed by bombs during the last war, St. Philip’s church served as the parish church. The Jesuits took over the administration of the church in 1957. In 2007 the Curia invited the Salesians of Don Bosco to set up a community in Senglea and they moved into St Philip’s on the 20 of October 2008.
  • Priest in charge

    Fr. Antoine Farrugia S.D.B.
  • Holy Masses

    Sundays and Feast Days: 7.00; 9.30am
    Saturday Evenings: 6.00pm (winter); 6.30pm (summer)
    Weekdays: 8.00am; 6.00pm (winter); 6.30pm (summer)
  • Telephone


  • St. Anne Home

    Kappillan Azzoppardi Street
  • Holy Masses

    Monday to Friday: 9.30am
    Sundays and feastdays: 9.00am
  • Kappella tal-Adorazzjoni

    St Julians Chapel


    St Julian’s Street, Senglea

    Opening Hours:

    Everyday: 8.00am – 8.00pm