The information provided on this page is not updated.
Kindly visit the new Secretariat for Parishes website.


Parish dedicated to Saint Lucy

The locality of Mtarfa, formerly part of the parish of Rabat, had a considerable increase in the population during the last years. For several years the church of St. Lucia served the pastoral needs of the people residing at Mtarfa; with the departure of the British military forces St. Oswald’s chapel, which was the chapel of the military hospital, was used instead. It was declared an Automomous Pastoral Zone on 19th April 2000, and was declared a parish on the 8th December 2004.

​Parish Population: 2,900
Families: 800

Parish Priest

Rev. René Vella

Parish Office

St Lucy Parish Centre,
Triq ir-Rigmenti Maltin,
Mtarfa MTF 1540

Office Hours

9:00 – 10:30 am
5:00– 6:30 pm


2145 4234



Mtarfa Parish

Parish Clergy

Rev. René Vella, Parish Priest
Mgr. Joe Magro
Fr Martin Micallef

Parish Pastoral Council

President: Rev. René Vella, Parish Priest

Secretary: Ms Nathalie Heywood

Parish Economic Council

President: Rev René Vella, Parish Priest

Secretary: Mr Charles Bugeja

Holy Masses in the Pastoral Centre

Sundays and Feastdays: 9:00am, 11:00 a.m and 6:30 pm
Saturday Evenings: 6:30 pm
Weekdays: 7:45 am

Holy Masses in St Oswald’s Church

Sundays: 8:00 am
Weekdays: 6:30 pm