The information provided on this page is not updated.
Kindly visit the new Secretariat for Parishes website.

Birkirkara (St Helen)

Collegiate Parish Church of St Helen

Birkirkara is one of the ten parishes which existed in 1436, the year of the Rollo drawn up by the bishop of Malta, Senatore Mello. The parish was dedicated to St Helen, and this was also the titular saint of the church built in the 18th century and still existing today. The church became a Collegiate church in 1630 and a Minor Basilica on the 18th January 1950.

Dedication date:  20 October 1782

Parish Population: 10,000

Families: 3,500

Provost Archpriest

Mgr Paul Carmel Vella

Parish Office

51, Main Street, B’Kara BKR 2304

Office Hours

Mondays & Wednesdays

5.00 pm – 6.30 pm


5.00 pm – 7.30 pm


Office: 2144 4725

Home: 2144 2225

Mobile: 9946 4343





Ħbieb tat-Tempju Elenjan

Collegiate Chapter

Mgr Paul Carmel Vella – Provost Archpriest

Rev Can. Pawl Gauci – Dekan

Rev Can. Ġużepp Micallef – Cantor

Rev Can. Mikiel Borg

Rev Can. Charles Gauci

Mgr Etienne Sciberras

Rev Can. Vinċenz Demicoli

Rev Can. Nicholas Doublet – Chancellor

Rev Can. Karm Busuttil

Rev Can. Charles C. Attard

Honorary Canons

Rev. Can. Dun Mikiel Agius

Mgr Karm Aquilina

Rev. Can. Carmelo Attard

Rev. Can. Noel Borg

Mgr Vincent Cachia

Mgr Anton Cassar

Rev. Can. Charles Grech

Rev. Can. Jesmond Grech

Rev. Can. Simon Sciberras

Rev. Can. Joe Debono

Rev. Can. Ivan Aquilina

Rev. Can. Loenard Mintoff

Other priests residing in the Parish

Mgr Karm Aquilina

Mgr Tarcisio Delicata

Mgr Ġużepp Brincat

Rev. Maurice Mifsud

Rev. Ivan Sant

Parish Pastoral Council

President: Mgr Paul Carmel Vella – Provost Archpriest

Moderator: Mr Adrian Porter 

Secretary: Mr Andre’ Azzopardi

Parish Economic Council

President: Mgr Paul Carmel Vella – Provost Archpriest

Members: Mr Emanuel Sammut, Prof Saviour Gauci

Holy Masses

Sundays and Feast Days: 6.00, 7.00, 8.00, 9.15, 10.30, 12.00 am and 6.30 pm

Saturday Evenings: 5.30, 6.30 pm

Weekdays: 6.00, 7.00, 8.30 am and 6.30 pm

Other Churches

Sanctuary of Our Lady Tal-Ħerba

The sanctuary was built in 1610 in an area where an old church had existed; it was dedicated by Bishop Labini on the 23rd March 1783. In 1923 the building was enlarged and today hardly anything remains of the 1610 church. The image of Our Lady was crowned on the 7th August 1910. Marriages may be held in the sanctuary.

Priest in charge:

Provost Archpriest

Holy Masses

Weekdays: 9.00 am

Eucharistic Adoration:

Every Second Wednesday from 10.00 am to 11.00 am
Every First Saturday at 5.00 pm

Our Lady of Victories Church

Priest in charge:

Rev. Can Charles Gauci

Tel: 21444725

Holy Masses

Sundays and Feast Days: 7.00 am

Saturday Evenings: 6.00 pm

Weekdays: 5.30 pm

St Roche’s Church

The first church dedicated to St Roche was built in 1593, but Bishop Balaguer closed it in 1659 it was rebuilt after the 1676 plague and rebuilt again in 1863. Today St Rita of Cascia is venerated in this church.

Priest in charge:

Provost Archpriest

Holy Masses

Sundays and Feast Days: 9.00 am

Mondays to Fridays: 5.30 pm

Saturdays: 5.00pm

Thursday: 10.00am; 7.00 pm

Church of St Anthony and St Catherine

The church was built in 1571 but was closed by Bishop Balaguer in 1659; rebuilt again in 1828 it is today a centre for the Eucharistic apostolate.

Priest in charge:

Prevost Archpriest

Holy Masses

Weekdays: 9.30 am

Eucharistic Adoration

Monday to Saturday: 5.30 am – 8.30 pm

St Paul’s Church

In 1538 a church was built in an area where, according to tradition, St Paul had preached; the church was rebuilt in 1852.

Priest in charge:

Rev Nicholas Doublet

Mob: 7953 9195

Holy Masses

Sundays and Feast Days: 10.30 am (Tridentine Mass)

Weekdays & Saturday Evenings: 7.00 pm 

St Francis of Assisi Church

The Franciscan Conventuals during the war, in 1941 opened a small chapel in a villa in Msida Road, for the benefit of the many refugees who had settled in Birkirkara. In 1953 they started building the present church and friary and a collage for their students. Marriages can be celebrated in this church.

Priest in charge:

Rev. Arthur Cutajar OFM Conv

Tel: 2144 1928

Holy Masses

Sundays and Feastdays: 6.30, 8.00, 9.30, 11.00 am (outside in August) and 6.30 pm

Saturday Evenings: 6.30 pm

Weekdays: 6.30, 7.30 am and 6.30 pm

Public Holidays during the week: 6.30, 7.30, 8.30 am and 6.30 pm

MSSP Oratory

The Oratory was built in 1910 by Rev Michael Sammut. His benefactors were Michael and Guilia Casolani as well as Alphonse Maria Galea and originally it was run by the Salesian Fathers. These were followed in 1912 by the Christian Brothers (Freres) who stayed on for three years. In 1927 the Fathers of the Missionary Society of St Paul took over the running of the Oratory. Marriages may be celebrated here.

Priest in charge:

Rev. Martin Cilia MSSP

Tel: 2144 1917

Holy Masses

October till May:

Sundays and Feastdays: 7.30 am u 10.30 am

Saturday: 7.00 am; 6.00 pm; 7.30 pm

Weekdays: 7.00 am u 6.30 pm

From June till September:

Sundays and Feastdays: 7.30 am u 10.30 am

Saturday: 7.00 am; 6.00 pm; 7.30 pm

Weekdays: 7.00 am u 7.00 pm

Mater Dei Hospital’s Chapel

Holy Masses

Weekdays: 6.30 am; 7:00 am; 12:00 pm

Saturday: 6.30 am; 7:00 am; 7:00 pm

Sundays and Feastdays: 7.30 am u 10.30 am

Adoration Chapels

Church of St Anthony and St Catherine


Main Road, Birkirkara

Opening hours

Monday – Saturday

5.30 am – 8.00 pm

MSSP Oratory


Oratorju MSSP,

Triq San Giljan,


Opening hours

4.00 pm – 11.00 pm